Victory Fund endorses 36 LGBT candidates for office

Betsy Driver of Flemington NJ is running for mayor. Photo credit Del LaGrace Volcano.
Betsy Driver of Flemington NJ is running for mayor. Photo credit Del LaGrace Volcano.
The list includes Betsy Driver for Mayor of Flemington, NJ

The LGBTQ Victory Fund endorsed 36 more candidates for elected positions across the nation. Victory Fund has now endorsed 218 LGBT candidates this election cycle — more than at any time in its 27-year history.

Victory Fund logoAmong the endorsees is Betsy Driver for Mayor of Flemington in Hunterdon County. Also endorsed was Daniel Ward for Barnegat Township Committee in Ocean County. In Morris County, the incumbent, Leonard Resto was endorsed by the Victory Fund for Chatham Borough Council.

In the state of Kansas, Brandon Woodard received a Spotlight endorsement in his race for the Kansas House of Representatives. With a victory in November, Brandon will become the first openly LGBT person elected to the Kansas state legislature. He is facing Wendy Bingesser, who touts the endorsement of the anti-LGBT organization Family Policy Alliance of Kansas and supports allowing taxpayer-funded adoption agencies to discriminate against same-sex parents. Brandon is one of dozens of LGBT candidates facing anti-LGBT opponents in the general election.

“A rainbow wave is coming in November — with more LGBT candidates positioned to win historic races and high-level offices than at any other time in American history,” said Mayor Annise Parker, President & CEO of LGBTQ Victory Fund. “Importantly, voters are choosing LGBTQ candidates in red states and blue states. And not because of their sexual orientation or gender identity, but because they are authentic candidates with positive and inclusive agendas. A surge in LGBTQ political power come November is critical not just because the LGBTQ community needs us, but because America needs us.”

Other Victory Fund endorsed candidates
  • James Aguilar, San Leandro (CA) Unified School District Governing Board, Area 6
  • Jason Andrean, DC State Board of Education, Ward 1
  • Jordan Brandman, Anaheim (CA) City Council, District 2
  • Lisa Bunker, New Hampshire House of Representatives, Rockingham 18
  • Marisabel Cabrera, Wisconsin State Assembly, District 9
  • Carlos Cardona, New Hampshire House of Representatives, Belknap 3
  • Jake Cunningham, Oakland County (MI) Circuit Court, District 6
  • Bonnie Dumanis, San Diego (CA) Board of Supervisors, District 4
  • Laurie Farrow, Carroll County (AR) Justice of the Peace, District 3
  • Rochelle Galindo, Colorado House of Representatives, District 50
  • Brian Garcia, Tempe Union High School District Governing Board #213, At-Large
  • Sunday Gover, California State Assembly, District 77
  • Kathleen James, Vermont House of Representatives, District 4
  • Ben Ku, Gwinnett County (GA) Commissioner, District 2
  • Shawn Kumagai, Dublin (CA) City Council, At-Large
  • Bobby Levinski, Austin City Council, District 8
  • Richard Perque, Civil District Court Judge, Orleans Parish (LA), Division E
  • Lis Regula, Portage County (OH) Auditor
  • Rob Reneau, Peoria County (IL) Board Member, District 10
  • Katie Scott, Washtenaw County Commissioner (MI), District 9
  • Adam Spickler, Cabrillo (CA) College Trustee
  • Rachelanne Vander Werf, American River Flood Control District Trustee (CA)
  • Mitch Weber, Missouri House of Representatives, District 13
  • Tyller Williamson, Monterey (CA) City Council, At-Large
Victory Fund 2018 endorsed incumbent candidates
  • Becca Balint, Vermont State Senate, Windham District
  • Harry Bronson, New York State Assembly, District 138
  • James Chang, Berkeley (CA) Rent Stabilization Board
  • John Gomez, Cartwright School District Governing Board (AZ)
  • Debbie Ingram, Vermont State Senate, Chittenden District
  • Miles Prince, San Gabriel Valley (CA) Municipal Water District, Division 4
  • Gabriel Quinto, El Cerrito City Council (CA)
  • Marque Snow, Omaha (NE) Public School Board of Education, Subdistrict 2

This is the tenth round of endorsements by Victory Fund for the 2018 election cycle. All currently running openly LGBT endorsed candidates can be seen at